This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Panama

Panama is made up of 12 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Panama. Information on all primary administrative regions in Panama.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Panama alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Panama

There are 12 regions in Panama in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Panama
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bocas del Toro Provincia de Bocas del Toro1.125,461Bocas del Toro Bocas del Toro12,996
Chiriqui Provincia de Chiriquí2.416,873David David82,859
Cocle Provincia de Coclé3.233,708Penonome Penonomé12,394
Colon Provincia de Colón4.241,928Colon Colón76,643
Darien Provincia del Darién5.48,378La Palma La Palma1,845
Embera Emberá-Wounaan6.9,544Union Choco Unión Chocó9,497
Guna Yala Guna Yala7.35,131El Porvenir El Porvenir10
Herrera Provincia de Herrera8.111,647Chitre Chitré43,966
Los Santos Provincia de Los Santos9.89,592Las Tablas Las Tablas8,570
Ngoebe-Bugle Ngöbe-Buglé10.169,130Buabidi Buabidi-
Panama Provincia de Panamá11.1,713,070Panama Panamá408,168
Veraguas Provincia de Veraguas12.226,991Santiago de Veraguas Santiago de Veraguas45,355